Exile (Exile #1) by Kevin Emerson

 

Title: Exile

Series: Exile, Book One

Author: Kevin Emerson  @kcemerson

Expected Publication:
April 29, 2014

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Pages: 320

Genre(s): Young Adult Contemporary Romance Mystery

Source: Edelweiss

Summary from Goodreads: Catherine Summer Carlson knows how to manage bands like a professional—she’s a student at the PopArts Academy at Mount Hope High, where rock legends Allegiance to North got their start. Summer knows that falling for the lead singer of her latest band is the least professional thing a manager can do. But Caleb Daniels isn’t an ordinary band boy—he’s a hot, dreamy, sweet-singing, exiled-from-his-old-band, possibly-with-a-deep-dark-side band boy. And he can do that thing. That thing when someone sings a song and it inhabits you, possesses you, and moves you like a marionette to its will.

Summer also finds herself at the center of a mystery she never saw coming. When Caleb reveals a secret about his long-lost father, one band’s past becomes another’s present, and Summer finds it harder and harder to be both band manager and girlfriend. She knows what the well-mannered Catherine side of her would do, but she also knows what her heart is telling her. Maybe it’s time to accept who she really is, even if it means becoming an exile herself. . . .

On sale in April 2014, Kevin Emerson’s EXILE is a witty and passionate ode to love, rock and roll, and the freedom that comes in the moment when somebody believes in you, even if you’re not quite ready to believe in yourself.

Average Goodreads Rating as of (04/24/2014): 3.82

  • Christina thought this title had heart. It goes on her 2nd shelf.

[Continue reading & get hooked!]

An Unplanned Lesson (Unplanned #1) by Beth Rinyu

TitleAn Unplanned Lesson

SeriesUnplanned

AuthorBeth Rinyu

Published:  March 2013

Nicole Morgan, the new second grade teacher at Pineview Elementary school, has it all together in the classroom; it’s her personal life that she can’t find peace with. Unable to let go of the guilt that she is harboring from her past, she punishes herself by running from all potential relationships.

Her patience is put to the test when Dailan O’Maley the obnoxious but very sexy uncle of one of her students enters her life. She slowly cracks away at Dailan’s crude, crass exterior when they are forced to work together for the sake of his nephew. The two of them learn a lesson in love that neither had planned as they discover that the guilt they are hiding deep inside isn’t the only thing they have in common. Unbeknownst to her, he holds more than just the key to her heart.

Ana will put An Unplanned Lesson on her second shelf!!

A swoon-worthy Irishman, an adorable little boy, a sweet love story…yes, please!  This was a fun, quick read that will hit all the high points for anyone who loves a good romance with just enough other stuff going on that it doesn’t become overly mushy! A great read for those who love love!

(null)

The Last Best Kiss by Claire LaZebnik

 

Title: The Last Best Kiss

Author: Claire LaZebnik

Expected Publication:
April 22, 2014

Publisher: HarperTEEN

Pages: 320

Genre(s): Young Adult Contemporary  Romance

Source: Edelweiss

Summary from Goodreads: Anna Eliot is tired of worrying about what other people think. After all, that was how she lost the only guy she ever really liked, Finn Westbrook.

Now, three years after she broke his heart, the one who got away is back in her life.

All Anna wants is a chance to relive their last kiss again (and again and again). But Finn obviously hasn’t forgotten how she treated him, and he’s made it clear he has no interest in having anything to do with her.

Anna keeps trying to persuade herself that she doesn’t care about Finn either, but even though they’ve both changed since they first met, deep down she knows he’s the guy for her. Now if only she can get him to believe that, too….

With her signature wit and expertly authentic teen voice, Claire LaZebnik (the author of fan favorites Epic Fail and The Trouble with Flirting) once again breathes new life into a perennially popular love story. Fans of Polly Shulman, Maureen Johnson, and, of course, Jane Austen will love this irresistibly funny and romantic tale of first loves and second chances.

Average Goodreads Rating (as 04/21/2014): 3.79

  • Christina thought this title was good. It goes on her 3rd shelf.

[Continue reading & get hooked!]

After the End (After the End #1) by Amy Plum

Title: After the End Author: Amy Plum @AmyPlumOhLaLa Series: After the End Publisher: HarperTEEN Published: May 6, 2014 Genre: Young Adult ~ Paranormal ~ Sci-fi Synopsis: She’s searching for answers to her past. They’re hunting her to save their future. World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness. They've survived … [Continue reading & get hooked!]

Teaser and Giveaway for Girl Lost by Nazarea Andrews

GL_Teaser1

This book is on our radar and looks divine. Check out the teaser and enter the contest after you add it to your TBR! Girl Lost by Nazarea Andrews . Release Date: May 1, 2014 Genre: New Adult Girl Lost Summary: Northern was supposed to be a fresh start—a place where people didn’t know who I was or how I had spent years in and out of mental institutes. People didn't know about … [Continue reading & get hooked!]

Pretty Little Things by Teresa Mummert

Title: Pretty Little Things Author: Teresa Mummert Publisher: self-published Published: March 11, 2014 Genre: New Adult Contemporary Synopsis: I was young enough not to understand that my life was different. Colin became the one person that I could count on to protect me. He suffered for the both of us by carrying the burden of our secret. We were the lucky few that got a chance to start … [Continue reading & get hooked!]

Stacking the Shelves {35}

Crow's Row

Welcome to Stacking The Shelves – hosted by Tynga over at Tynga’s Reviews! Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, whether it be physical or virtual.  This means you can include books you buy in store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts, and of course e-Books! Below is all the pretty books  our … [Continue reading & get hooked!]

Don’t Call Me Baby by Gwendolyn Heasley

  Title: Don't Call Me Baby Author: Gwendolyn Heasley ♥ @GwenHeasley Expected Publication: April 22, 2014 Publisher: HarperTEEN Pages: 304 Genre(s): Young Adult ♥ Contemporary Source: Edelweiss Summary from Goodreads: All her life, Imogene has been known as the girl on THAT blog. Imogene's mother has been writing an incredibly embarrassing, and incredibly … [Continue reading & get hooked!]

Searching for Beautiful by Nyrae Dawn

Title:  Searching for Beautiful Author:  Nyrae Dawn Published:  March 2014 Before, Brynn had a group of best friends, a loving boyfriend, a growing talent for pottery. She had a life. And after…she had none. When Brynn lost the boyfriend who never loved her, the friends who feel she betrayed their trust, and the new life just beginning to grow inside her, she believes her future … [Continue reading & get hooked!]